Skip to main content

Seven areas of learning

There are seven areas of learning and development that must shape educational programmes in early years settings. All areas of learning and development are important and interconnected. Three areas are particularly crucial for igniting children's curiosity and enthusiasm for learning, and for building their capacity to learn, form relationships and thrive. These three prime areas are:

Providers must also support children in four specific areas, through which the three prime areas are strengthened and applied. The specific areas are:

  • Literacy
  • Mathematics
  • Understanding the world
  • Expressive arts and design

Relevant resources

The Department for Education (DfE) have produced a number of short early years foundation stage (EYFS) films, which are available on YouTube. This example looks at ideas to support children's understanding of number sequence.